United Waterfowlers Web Forums  

Go Back   United Waterfowlers Web Forums > Recipe Forum

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-29-2015, 05:50 PM
Bufflehead

Pulled pork....

Smoking a pork shoulder seems to be my biggest enemy.. every time I pull it off the smoker, it's cooked through but will never pull. I know this is a time related issue.

Tips, trips, or rub recipes from the pros?

I'm going to give it another shot on sundaY

Trey
Old 01-29-2015, 06:18 PM
Quack Addict

Re: Pulled pork....

Sounds like you are not cooking it long enough. It's counter-intuitive. Usually meat is more tender when you cook it less. In this case you have to cook it past done to get the meat to break down and allow the meat to pull.

This guy has a great free "course" that consists of 5 e-mails on smoking. Takes you through each step and what to consider. I'd highly recommend it. I am a total newb, but have had great success following reading his info. http://www.smoking-meat.com/smoking-basics-ecourse

From his e-mails (last # is when to take it off):

Pork Butt (Sliced) 225F 1.5 hours/pound 175 degrees
Pork Butt (Pulled) 225F 1.5 hours/pound 195-205

You have this to look forward to!

CocoCoy ProStaff: Midwest division
Old 01-29-2015, 06:24 PM
Pintail

Temp seems right to me but the time seems to be a little longer than I run them. I usually go about an hour a pound maybe a little more. Smoke them unwrapped for about half the cook time and then wrap them in foil and run the remaining time.

I'm sure there is thousands of ways to do it "right"
Old 01-29-2015, 06:35 PM
Ringer

Try "Butt Rub" and finish it in the oven if not done when you take it off the smoker.
Old 01-29-2015, 06:49 PM
UW-F Executive Director

Do you have water in the smoker? A source of moisture will make for the tenderness needed to "pull" the meat. Too dry and it is hard to pull
Old 01-29-2015, 07:15 PM
NW Regional Director