United Waterfowlers Web Forums  

Go Back   United Waterfowlers Web Forums > Boats, Blinds, Gear, & Guns

Old 05-18-2019, 09:23 AM
Quack Addict

Federal "new" Speed shok v Ultra sho

Federal blues have been good but on the dirty side. New ones are claimed to be cleaner. Ultra shok is 30$ more per case (109$ v 129$- Rogers). Any reviews? I need 3" 12 ga #3 1 1/4 oz loads...
Old 05-19-2019, 01:43 PM
Sponsor Member

Re: Federal "new" Speed shok v Ultra sho

If it were me, I'd go with Kent Fasteel. Rogers currently has the 3", 1 1/4 oz on sale for $124.99 / case. It says #1 shot, but I believe it also lists #3 shot size so suspect that's available for the same price. I don't know what shipping would be, that could add a few bucks, but it's a better deal than the Ultra Shok.

I've been using Kent Fasteel exclusively for quite a few years now, it patterns and shoots really well in my Browning, and seems to be fairly clean. But I clean my gun after every hunt anyway so that really isn't an issue for me. I just really like the performance I get from it and will likely get another case to have on hand even if I don't think I'll need it next season.

Originally Posted by duckbone:
QUOTA PERMITS...the root of all evil in florida hunting.
Old 05-19-2019, 07:27 PM
Quack Addict

Used Kent before my current five year plan with Federal, nothing wrong with them at all. I like #3 shot better than #4- gets those ringers good! I might mix and match. Rio has also been a surprise- they are introducing a biodegradable shell this fall.
Old 05-19-2019, 08:37 PM
Sponsor Member